Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is the case that scientific research has an essential role to play in human’s survival and growth. This can be seen in its substantial contributions to solving numerous issues in the range of fatal diseases, global climate change to economic crises. In my opinion, although this research should prioritize the solutions to world well-being problems, other concerns should be taken into consideration.

Admittedly, there are some reasons why scientists should concentrate on tackling global health issues. To begin with, robust citizens are the engine of national economic prosperity. This is because when the health of residents, especially the labor force, is ensured, they will tend to devote full of their ability to economic growth by producing ample qualified goods. Thus, there is an increase in the productivity of their country. Besides, scientific research is at the heart of investigating cures to life-threatening diseases. For instance, were it not for the intensive research and successful discovery of Covid-19 vaccines, there would be much more calamitous repercussions mankind had to suffer from.

However, if scientific research’s efforts aim to address other issues related to climate change and environmental contamination, they will yield more benefits for the community worldwide. In the last few decades, industrialized processes, as well as some human activities, such as dumping raw sewage disposal into the sea, clearing the forest for accommodation, or poaching wildlife for food and skin, are blamed on spoiling the ecosystem. These actions can cause harsh climate patterns or even biodiversity imbalance, leading to tons of infectious diseases that people are confronting. Therefore, investing in intensive research into answers to such concerns not only urges people to strive for environmental sustainability but also renders scientific studies regarding world health unnecessary.

In conclusion, while scientific research about global well-being problems has certain positive effects, environmental studies are more pivotal in form of serving long-term growth and somewhat being a panacea for health issues.