Some people think the secondary school should study non-academic subjects such as Civic or Religious Studies. Others argue that this a waste of time and those children should only study academic subjects like mathematics and science.

Some people think that high school should learn non-academic courses like Religion studies instead only focus on academic courses. Others said it would consume time. In this essay, I would describe these both opinions.

The reason why students in the secondary school should be taught about Civic or Religion Studies is because Religion is something that could not be separated from human life. There is phrase “ora et labora” which means pray and work. If it is interpreted for students to balance attitude and the academic. Moreover, Religion could lead us in peace, so when they are in trouble they would face it calmly. For example, the number of students who committed suicide in South Korea has increased every year. This is caused by pushing them too much in academic subjects without stabilizing their spiritual. Therefore, when they could not reach their target, it would cause them to become distressed and do dangerous things.

On the other hand, there are two reasons why schools should not take Religion Studies as a curriculum. Firstly, people’s faith is not something that should be assessed then written on the report card. Because, in Religion educations in many schools, teachers ask their pupil to memorize a lot of paragraphs from the holy book, but they actually do not have the understanding about them. Additionally, Religion should be a device that connects the person to God. Secondly, most of the educator are not compatible. They educate the student to be radical such as calling the untruth of other religions. So, the students would make a group that only include people who have the same beliefs. Furthermore, citizens usually found some students in 15-17 years old who committed suicide while killed people who have different faith due to radical teachings that they learned.

All in all, I think religion is something that has powerful role in students’ live. However, students need to be educated about religion without making it as a syllabus.