Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them, and education and training are better solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (

Due to the threats from criminals to our society in various ways nowadays, many people suggest that training and education should be used to tackle the issue instead of the traditional method of putting them in the prison. I totally disagree with this opinion.

It is understandable why many people advocate the idea of educating offenders. They often say that if these individuals are given suitable learning programs or apprenticeship, they would have necessary skills to make their ends meet after getting out of prison, and potentially would not get involved in any illegal activities. However, I would argue that this belief is misguided and unconvincing. Most of criminals have gone through formal education at primary and secondary levels, in which they have learnt a lot of knowledge and skills which are useful for most of the occupations in the contemporary society, but still have committed law-breaking actions. Therefore, educating these law-breakers cannot make sure that they would not do any criminal activities again.

Incarceration, on the other hand, is the far more effective solution to address the issue of crime for several reasons. Firstly, it helps ensure that anyone acting against the will of others would have to get the consequence of losing freedom, which modern citizens are highly afraid of. This also means not only making the public more aware about avoiding breaking the laws but also protecting the society from the offenders in a certain period. Secondly, many prisons nowadays do have rehabilitation programs to help bring the ex-criminals back to the society naturally and effectively by encouraging them to do voluntary work for the society. This could be exemplified by Vietnam, where thousands of prisoners are rehabilitated annually after 3 to 5 years of doing unpaid work for local community. These people then come back to their hometown, welcomed by the both their family and neighbors, and then establishing their own business for the rest of their life.