The world of work is rapidly changing and employees cannot depend on having the same work or the same work conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes and suggest ways to prepare for people to work in the future.

It is true that modern society is in a constant state of flux with manifold types of work. This has resulted in employees continuously seeking new work at different stages of life instead of depending on one job. In this essay, I am going to analyse the main reason why this is happening and propose several solutions to make people well prepared for the future.

The most obvious cause is the rapid growth of technology, with innovations, machines and tools being invented nearly every day to cater for human society. Many jobs have gradually become obsolete while many other positions are created to fulfil the need of the market. For example, one could happily depend on being a taxi driver to support themselves many years ago, but in the intermediate future, the invention of self-driving cars might threaten their livelihood. Another example can be seen in the field of health care. Robots are now used to perform surgeries and medical treatments, so doctors and nurses should not be assured that they are irreplaceable.

In order to become well adaptive, employees should be willing to embrace technology, learn foreign languages and accept their ignorance. It would be difficult, if not impossible, for one to work in modern workplaces without a rudimentary knowledge of computer literacy because of the ubiquitous use of computers all over the world. Similarly, as the world has gradually become a global village, it is necessary that the employee know more than one language so that they can increase their odds of finding employment. The ability to accept that we do not know anything also helps us to be ready to learn new things, making us well prepared to adapt to the mutation of society.

In conclusion, modern people do not depend on a single job for life because of the development of technology, and they need to embrace technology, learn foreign languages and be open to new experiences to prepare for the future.