People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world. What are the reasons for this, and how can people learn more about the natural world?

It has been the norm that common understanding of the significance as well as existing issues of our environment has severely eroded. In this essay, technology will be highlighted as a major culprit for this erosion and solutions which will incorporate multilateral efforts will be presented.

The main villain between an increasingly weakened comprehension of the environment is young people's overindulgence in technological advancement. So alluring are these marvellous breakthroughs, the prime illustration of which is such social networks as Facebook or Instagram, that there is an overwhelming tendency for the young population to dedicate their most significant proportion of time to cyberspace socialisation. This is evidenced by numerous studies on leisure time which identify social networking as the biggest contributor to one's time allocation. This disproportionate distribution of time results in insufficient exposure to, and thus, an inadequate sense of appreciation for nature. This trend sheds light on why youngsters fail to come to a recognition of how crucial our mother nature is.

Prompt actions should be taken to tackle the seriousness of this trend. Firstly, on an individual basis, it is parents who should be held accountable as supervisors to control their young one's pastimes, as well as, directors to engage them in environment-promoting activities. In place of gaming or social networking, for instance, parents can take their young family members to nearby parks and educate them of nature. Secondly, there should be a collaborated effort between local authorities and schools in heightening students' awareness of the environment. For example, in Vietnam, there is an annual tree-planting contest on a nationwide scale for an improved appreciation of natural beauty.

In summary, in light of young people's tendency to partake in technology-related activities in their free time, thereby neglecting the environment, parents, schools and governments should join hands to enhance their awareness in this regard. Once these three parties collaborate, a bright future for all can be created