Some people say that prisons are an expensive and only make bad people worse. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Imprisonment nowadays is often blamed for the high cost to establish and the negative impacts on prisoners’ future life. I absolutely agree with both criticisms.

When it comes to the budget spent on running prisons, it is true to say that it is unnecessarily expensive. This often covers constructing and maintaining imprisoning facilities with highly sensitive security system compared to normal buildings, recruiting well-trained staff as well as offering basic needs for the offenders. In legal terms, all of these costs are necessary to punish those having committed criminal acts along with protecting the society from the law-breaking individuals. However, there are many other far cheaper methods, typified by banning identified criminals from leaving their own accommodation with GPS tracking and community control, which bring similar benefits as prisons do. Therefore, the argument against prison cost is understandably solid.

Turning to the effects of prisons on the criminals, they are arguably negative. Isolating prisoners from the outside world alone helps prevent bad people from not only harming the society temporarily but also any chances of working legally or getting suitable training. These individuals often already do not have necessary skills to work as normal citizens, and incarcerations only make their prospects worse by forcing them to do nothing in years. As a result, ex-prisoners often find it difficult to have a normal life and are more likely to commit crime again.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that prisons do nothing to help those who have committed illegal activities despite receiving unacceptably huge investments. Crime can only be solved effectively if incarcerations are combined with other feasible strategies like education and rehabilitation.