Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that creating a competitive environment is necessary for children, whilst others think that collaborative skills are more valuable than competition to teach them in schools. From my perspective, I agree with the latter viewpoint.

On the one hand, competitive surroundings ensure to provide for pupils a source of motivation. Under these circumstances, competing with their peers in a healthy atmosphere boost them to develop themselves to gain the goals. For instance, teachers can create a game with a small prize in a class that could stimulate students to study independently and make more progress. In particular, teachers should support children to be familiar with competing to make them confidently in a working situation, such as the job application process.

On the other hand, it is perhaps more critical to prepare for younger school-aged youngsters many aspects of full-grown life that require co-operation. In a workplace, employees are expected to work as a team and forced them to follow the instructions, discuss with other co-workers to find out the best solution for projects or contracts. Also, other staffs have to supervise and coach a non-experienced worker. That is why it is more efficient than a rivalry of determination to win. Furthermore, even in universities, undergraduate also need to collaborate with peers to work together in a specific presentation. In that case, there is principal for pupils to be fostered collaborative skills and directed by schools.

To conclude, although some people contend that children will be better to develop in a competitive surrounding, I personally think that teamwork is one of an essential skill for them to become a valuable adult in the future.