Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The importance between competition and cooperation to the development of children are highly debatable at this present day. Whilst others believe that children should be encouraged to be competitive, some people argue that teaching them about cooperation will mould these kids to a responsible adult. this essay will discuss both sides of the argument in details and will give the author’s perspective regarding this matter.

To begin with, competition plays a pivotal role in a child’s personal development, a reason why some people allow children to compete. Through this, they will develop the sense of passion and hard work as they will do their best to succeed. For instance, in school, children who aim to become top of their class will tend put more effort to study harder. Same in terms of sports, where their goal is to win , so they will practice and train more to become better. In addition, encouraging child to be competitive is teaching his or her essence of sportsmanship. As a result, his or her will learn that competition is not all about winning, it is about being humble and accepting flaws and appreciating the abilities of others.

Notwithstanding, there are people who suggest that teaching youngsters to cooperate than to compete will result to a better adulthood. being cooperative is important as this is a way of building a strong interpersonal relationship with others. To elucidate, a child who knows how to cooperate can easily get along with other children which means that in the future they will be able to handle relationships well either friends, family or colleagues; unlike those who are more competitive who tend to become more isolated. Moreover, training children to be cooperative is also teaching them to lending a hand to others especially to their teammates or classmates. this may redound to a better member of the society in the future as these children will contribute to the improvement of the community.

Henceforth, both sides of the argument is compelling, competition and cooperation are two values that are important and useful in shaping the children to adulthood. A child can be competitive as he or she will work hard and learn the sense of sportsmanship, as well as cooperative by working with others in achieving their common goals. Therefore, these two can exist together.

To recapitulate, despite the argument of cooperation is more useful for children, the benefits of teaching them to be competitive cannot be disregarded. this author believes that if a child learns the value of competition and cooperation, this will result to a better adulthood.