: Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance in school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over-enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on a child.

PROMPT: Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well in school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child’s education?

The educational performance of the students can be highly influenced by their parents. While there are parents who have high expectations on their children to perform well in school which can pose detrimental effect to their children, there are some who don’t give encouragement at all. This essay will explore why parents push their children harder to excel in school and their possible role in the education.

To begin with, there are students who do not encouraged by their own parents about their school performances. This is because they want their kids to have freedom in showing their full capabilities without being forced. However, this can be disadvantageous as the children may feel neglected by their parents. On the other hand, some parents are more enthusiastic in pressuring their child to do well in school which may affect the children negatively. For instance, these students receiving high expectations from their parents are more prone to depression if they will not be able to satisfy their parents. In addition, it is proven that children may become more rebellious against their own parents as they are constantly forced.

there are reasons why young students are being pressured by their parents. Firstly, all parents want the best for their child, so by pushing their children to study harder will lead to high marks and a better school performance will benefit the students in the further education. Moreover, this is also a way of disciplining their child, so that they will not take studying for granted. Students may easily influenced by peer pressure or external factor which can divert their attention away from school works. Having a parent who frequently reminds them about their studies in school will help them be more focused in learning.

Having said all of these, parents play a pivotal role in their child’s education. As they are the one who are paying for the educational need of their young students, they are concern if their children are not taught well in school. it is their sole right to make sure that their kids are learning well. Apart from this, our parents are our first teachers, and they will continue to guide us not only in educational matter but also traditional, moral values and life experiences.

To recapitulate, students who are not encouraged and those who are extremely pressured by their parents to do well in school, both can have negative impact to the children. Hence, parents can be reasonable in pushing their child to perform better in school as it is their role to assure that their children receive quality education.