Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

We are living in a competitive world where children should be motivated to have a sense of competition to deal with the challenging environment. Some people think that children should learn how to co-operate instead of competing with each other to become a helpful adults, while I would argue that competition is vital for achievements in all aspects of life.

It is certainly true that teaching cooperation to kids can be beneficial for them in many ways. Firstly, if we teach our children how to co-operate, they will develop social skills. These interpersonal skills can prove quite handy in their adult life, as many organizations are nowadays require good social skills alongside academics. Secondly, having empathy and making compromises are the qualities that are only learnt if people know how to co-operate rather than competing against each other. Both of these qualities are deemed necessary by many to create a peaceful environment, like to avoid wars between countries.

However, it is the sense of competition that helps children in every field of life, as the world is becoming competitive day by day. In past, while kids were taught at schools where they competed against each other to get good grades, the best among them got admission in the most prestigious universities around world. This trend of competition now begins even at the earlier stage. For example, a recent survey of all the primary schools in London shows that on average 6 to 7 students are competing against each, at present, to get admission in a primary school as compared to statistics of 2003 where only 2 students were competing against each other. Furthermore, a sense of competition is not only required to excel in academics but also for extra-curricular activities which can be adopted as a career later in life. For example, as the number of people taking part in Olympics is now more than ever before, many athletes start training themselves at early age to win the tournament.

In conclusion, while teaching cooperation to kids can be useful sometimes, I strongly believe that children should be motivated to become competitive. As, this helps them to become successful in every aspect of life.