It has been controversial whether sport is of significant importance for the entire society or it is just a method of entertainment for some individuals. In my opinion, I assert that sport plays a crucial role in people’s lives.

On the one hand, sports could be used as time-killer activities that amuse people in their spare times. Unlike professional athletes who are talented and well-trained to compete in large competitions, ordinary people cannot take sport seriously and thus, they tend to do sport as leisure exercise. For example, many children and adults have been playing soccer on the street in their pastime although this type of sport requires professional techniques to correctly work humans’ muscle and minimize the injuries.

On the other hand, I side with the idea that sport has a pivotal role in the society as a whole. Although not many people are gifted with talents to become successful at competitions, they are influenced by the professionals to keep training themselves. As a result, not only these individuals can improve their own skills through imitating and learning but also increase their physical health and inspire the others. Subsequently, the spreading of inspiration will raise the health of the whole society. For instance, a majority of young people can now be easily seen working out on the street as a daily routine after admiring the perfect bodies of many bodybuilders.

In conclusion, while some argue that sport only serves as a way of leisure activities, I believe that it plays an essential part in today’s society.