Some people think that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that sports are important in society's development while others argue that they are just a kind of entertaining activity to relax. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why I am more inclined towards the former.

On one hand, a country would benefit a great deal from sports events like the Olympics if it could be a host nation. Since the competition was held in that country, people from all around the world will gather there to watch. This will increase the popularity of the nation, more tourists will come to visit, therefore, boost the economic growth faster. For instance, Brazil was the host nation for the 2016 Summer Olympics and this occasion had brought many beneficial effects to this place, especially its tourism. Furthermore, sports can solve a major problem these days which is obesity. Due to the fact that fast food and processed food is widely popular nowadays, fat individuals are also dramatically rising and this has an adverse impact on human lives. Exercise by playing sports is the most effective and fun way to move their bodies to burn fat and excess calories.

On the other hand, I would argue that schools place too much value on sports curriculum is not healthy, and participation in sport should be an out-of-school activity. Citizens, particularly students can have more relationships while playing sports with others because when they engage in team sports, they will have to play together and learn how to be united as one in order to reach their team's goal. Another reason is that physical exercise reduces the stress hormones in your body and stimulates the release of endorphins. These endorphins may give you more energy and focus for whatever life has.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better to think sports is one of the essential factors to improve both individuals' lives and the community as a whole.