Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people consider that strict chastisements for driving offences is dominant solution to make roader safer. In my opinion, I suppose that strict laws should be there to punish the driving offenders but the option of other methods would bring better results.

On the one hand, stringent punishments can certainly help to encourage people to have better driving habits. People who are found to be guilty of any driving rule violation should be punished with serious penalties and detentions. Depending on the seriousness of the offences, police can apply strict penalty and fine such as small fines, licence suspension, even prison sentenses. As the result, it can certainly improve the road safety as people would be more cautious and afraid of the consequence of the violation of the traffic laws. The aim of these punishments is to show dangerous drivers that their actions have negative consequences.

On the other hand, I believe that other measures could be more successful to address this problem. The first significant way is to educate the public properly before they start to drive. This could be teached in universities or even as part of an extended or more difficult driving test, so that citizens could have a chance to apply the laws on road traffic course. Secondly, another attention could be paid to safe road design such as using speed cameras to deter people from driving too quickly. Finally, improving the traffic system with modern equipment and enrolling more trained and professional traffic police could be another great way to tackle this issue in oder to reduce the number of accidents or casualties.

In conclusion, people have a varying opinion on how to reduce the number traffic accidents. While some people believe that there should be stricter policies and regulations about driving, I consider that there should be another effective way of addressing the issuses of traffic accidents.