Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The number of road accidents has been increasing over time which needs to be reduced, some argue that a policy of zero tolerance would be the main solution while others insist there are other methods to create safer traffic. The latter would be justified; however, the former sounds more convincing.

Many severe road accidents took away valuable lives that should be labeled as crime but sometimes being unnoticed. A noticeable root is because the government is being too soft to these situations, which causes many drivers to despise safety as well . Thereby, strict legislations such as fine, corporal punishments or even prison sentences could dispel the contempt and the potential of causing accidents of drivers and commoners. Moreover, if any driver has to be fully responsible for his case, it would be an exemplary event for others to be more cautious.

Another sizable part of the population argues that society needs long-term methods to improve the situation.The most common solution people suggest is education and awareness creation. This means that schools and parents should have serious lessons or even create a subject or talks to teach children about road safety when they start to form an independent mind, this should also be repeated many times until it becomes unconscious that humans have to consider safety first when driving. In addition to education, regarding driving licenses, organisations should raise the difficulty of the test so that the qualification of a driver can be fully tested by some criterias such as rapid response for unexpected situations. This would obviously reduce the amount of accidents for both pedestrians and drivers

But, in conclusion, it could be done that there should be a combination of punishment and other road safety measures. The drivers and pedestrians should be made aware and in case of accidents, both should be punished. When a traffic accident occurs, the negligence of both the driver and the victim is equally liable. Thereby, both of them should be made aware about the road safety issues and related punishment. The strict measure alone is unable to improve the road safety issues unless the other measures join their hands.