Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions regarding the question of severe retributions for driving violations. While some people argue that to reduce the frequency of traffic accidents, measures should be taken to improve road safety, I believe it can also be combined with other methods to solve the problem.

There are numerous reasons why strict punishments can deal with traffic offenses, one of which is to hit people's finances. More specifically, fine people when they break the law will raise their awareness. If not, people would not voluntarily follow the rules and regulations and would break them if possible. This would therefore act as a deterrent, meaning people avoid repeating the same offense. Another justification is that the driver can have their driver's license revoked, license suspended, a driver awareness course and even jail time. While these measures may affect drivers, for example drivers will lose their jobs, or affect their jobs, it will reduce accidents. The purpose of these penalties is to show dangerous drivers that their actions have negative consequences. Therefore, we hope that drivers should be more disciplined and alert, and obey the rules more carefully.

Notwithstanding some critics’ objections, some support the view that safe driving can be promoted in a variety of ways without punishing the driver. First and foremost, the government can pay more attention to safe road design. The government has to make some traffic-calming measures, such as putting more signs to warn people, building speed bumps and bends in the road can be added to stabilize traffic, and in addition paved curbs to avoid vehicles on the sidewalk, causing accidents for pedestrians. It should be also noted that properly educating people before they start driving, and this can be done in school or even as part of a longer or more difficult driving test. In addition, it is possible to issue an official driver's license to them when they have been driving for 3 years with only 5 violations at most. And when they have been granted a driver's license, if they violate more than 2 times in a year, they can completely revoke the license.

In sum, while there are sensible reasons to believe that tough punishments can reduce car crashes, my view is that the government can combine both stiff sentences and other measures.