Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

The safety of citizens inside the territory of a country should be the greatest concern of the government, as some accidents occur frequently. There are varying opinions among common folks to tackle the rise of car incidents, and my personal opinion is that there should be strict laws coupled with the combination of other methods, which are seemingly to make the roads more secure.

To begin with, citizens seem to abide by a law whenever they know that violation would cause severe retaliation. If the government would declare serious financial punishments for the most common type of the road violation, people including pedestrians would follow the rules thinking ahead any of their actions. Also, with the advancements in technology, the implementation of video observation should cover all areas, since some drivers may know the exact location of the recorders and exceed the speed in the blind zones. Subsequently, the risk of the accidents grow with the number of them. Thus, it is practical that if the punishments are bigger, the lower the chance of the citizens to disobey the rules.

On the other hand, there are already some cruel laws for the driving offenders such as deprivation of the driving license, money fines and even imprisonment. But in some cases, when the accidents are random and none of the participants are guilty, the government should deeply investigate the occurence and try not to let the same case happen again. First of all, from the very young ages we should make population aware of the devastating consequences of the traffic accidents. Moreover, lots of young drivers are given the license without the scrutinising their knowledge and skills and the vehicles that every driver exploits should be checked by the government for suitability, in order to prevent the incidents. Therefore, there are far more other ways for government to ensure the safety of movement.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that strict punishments for the felonies should be put ahead, and I also opine that there are some techniques with which the roads may be secure for all of the participants of the traffic.