Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

traffic accidents remain as serious problems in many countries. people consider that the best method to solve this matter is by imposing harsh punishments for the traffic offenders, while others think that another approach such as increasing road security is the best method to tackle this issue. this essay will address both sides of view and providing opinion as a conclusion.

Punishing traffic offenders with harsh sanctions such as revocation of driving license is a method can be applied to deal with road accident issue as it can increase the driver’s awareness regarding the consequences resulted from violation of traffic policies. Singapore, for instance, issuing a regulation for the drivers involved in road accidents to hand over their driving licenses and prohibits them to drive any means of transportation for a certain period of time. this is proven effectively work to reduce the number of traffic collisions in this country.

However, other people share different opinions regarding this issue due to the fact that they believe another measurement such as improving road safety can be taken into account. providing psychological test for driving license applicants for example, can measure the mental state of the driver. this way the authorities can selectively approving the driving license based on the applicant’ psychological states. Therefore, there is no drivers with unstable mental condition operating their vehicles in the road and traffic accident can be avoided.

To sum up, although I reckon that strict punishment is one way to solve the road accidents issue, I personally consider that increasing road security such as psychological examination for the applicants of driving license in more effective since it could prevent people with unstable mental condition to drive in the road.