Some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. Others, however, believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, opinions are divided as to whether students should attend the schools with co-education or the schools only for one gender. While I accept that there are some benefits of mixed schools, it is not to say that single-sex schools have no redeeming feature.

On the one hand , co-educational schools are the place for students to comprehensively develop social skills. Firstly, when participating in the dual gender classrooms, students jointly cooperate with not only their same-sex friends but also the opposite-sex ones, which boosts up the collaborative ability. For example,since their first day at school, some freshmen in mixed university in Vietnam have dramatically enhanced their teamwork skills, which yields many successes in their academic careers .Secondly, mixed school supply students with broad coverage of future issues relevant to both boys and girls ,with which they may encounter. It is estimated that pupils graduating from co-education will make their job prospects brighter because they were prepared for interpersonal skills in their high schools.

On the other hand, I think that the single-sex schools enable the pupils to achieve successfully academic attainment. The mono-gender schools prevent students from being attracted by opposite sex and foster them to concentrate on their academic goals. Were it not for the single-sex schools in China,the Chinese students would not gain such unprecedentedly high scores in the standardized tests like GRE and SAT. Moreover, pupils in those schools are provided with the comfortable and amiable environment, which augments both their confidence and the ability to cooperate with others. There is ample evidence suggesting that the female pupils will be less embarrassed when underperforming the tasks related to math and science, which are the strengths of their male counterparts. Therefore, the girls can easily seek help from their friends and will soon be kindled by these subjects.

In conclusion, though there are many advantages of the co-education, it seems to me that it would be better, for students to study in single-sex schools.