Some people think studying in groups is better, while some think self study is better for school students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The preference of the manner of studying is different among varying pupils, some consider group study as more desirable, while others want to do their work solitary. In my opinion, both have their own pros and cons and a combination of them would work efficiently.

Predominantly, studying in groups is efficacious as there are more minds at work, thus better solutions could be derived through discussion. Along with that, children can clear their doubts from their peers without any hesitation of being insulted. Additionally, studying with friends proves to be effective as one does not feel low or bored, thus becoming more productive. For instance, a teenager who completes a topic in 4 hours by himself can do it in half the time when someone clears his queries simultaneously. Also, those who are lacking in a particular subject can have a better understanding from those who are good at it. However,group study becomes a bane when leisure activities exceed the actual work done.

Similarly, individual study has its own benefits, the preponderant one being that one can work according to one's comfort. One needs not compete with the speed of the group members and can work at one's own pace. Moreover, there are no distractions and the child can focus solely on his work. Furthermore, some students do not like their ideas to be discussed with others, thus preferring to study by themselves. Often, there is one or the other member who has the habit of procrastination, hence delay the work of the whole group. For instance, while completing a group assignment, the negligence of one person affects the overall performance.

I believe that the pros of both methods of study should be taken benefit of and it should be chosen as per the requirement of the topic. One the one hand, studying sincerely and avoiding unnecessary distractions while studying in a group can remove its biggest disadvantage. While on the other hand, the work requiring utmost concentration should be done individually.

Conclusively, one should not stick to a single manner of studying and inculcate the habit of studying both for deriving maximum advantage out of each.