Some people argue that if children behave badly, their parents should accept responsibility and also be punished for the behavior of their children. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

According to some persons in the society, the conduct of the offspring is a reflection of the teachings of their parents and they should be penalized for indecent actions of their children. I do not agree with this statement.

Undoubtedly, teaching etiquette and moral values are a responsibility of the parents and they are obliged for good conduct of their offspring. However, it is not only the parents from whom a child his actions. Youngsters tend to spend more time outside their homes, be in the school or in the company of their peers, so they inculcate habits from different people and surroundings. There are various instances when a juvenile behaves entirely different before his parents and when one is with friends.

Therefore, blaming parents and punishing them for those actions which are not taught by them or about which they are unaware is not appropriate. Exemplifying suitable practices is not the sole responsibility of the parents, rather of the society as a whole. Improper behavior of youngsters is the failure of all those with whom they come in contact with. For instance, Children try to imitate the actions of their cousins or allies, thus, their actions depict the values of those being followed.

Conclusively, parents should play an efficient role in the development of their children, they should not be disrespected for the blunders of their successors.