Some people think that there should be strict laws to control the amount of noise a person makes because of the disturbance it causes to people.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

There is a view that strict legal restrictions should be imposed on the quantity of noise which an individual produces because it disturbs other people. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of regulating noise made by people.

On the one hand, there are some advantages of controlling noise with laws. Firstly, it is beneficial for education. Students’ concentration is significantly disturbed by the noise coming from a place outside schools, such as construction sites or motorways. Therefore, the governmental regulation of noise will help them study more comfortably and efficiently. Secondly, it is also advantageous from the viewpoint of health care. Continual loud noise can be harmful to people’s ear, deteriorating hearing. Moreover, it often disturbs sleep, which makes people exhausted. This can be the cause of mental health problems such as depression. These physical and mental health problems can be prevented by restricting noise legally.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of noise regulation are that it can have a negative influence on people’s life and the local economy. In order to secure the tranquil environment for many people, the government needs to keep a large-scale development accompanying loud noise away from urban areas which include a large population. This can render residents’ life more inconvenient due to the lack of renewal of infrastructure, making the city less attractive. As a result, the number of residents can decrease considerably, which leads to stagnation in the local economy.

In conclusion, the upsides of controlling noise generated by people are that it can affect education and citizen’s health negatively, while the downsides are unfavorable effects on residents’ convenience and the local economy.