Some people think they have the right to use as much freshwater as they want, while others believe governments should strictly control the use of freshwater as it is a limited resource. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the qeustion of freshwater has become a fiercely controversial issue. Some people assert that people are entitled to consume as much freshwater as they want, while others argue that governments should prevent citizens from excessively using freshwater. Personally, I believe both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that governments in some emerging countries, such as China and India, should control the consumption of freshwater. An obvious reason is that these countries do not have enough freshwater and they have a multitude of citizens. Furthermore, less-developed countries economy revolves around the industry, which requires to consume a huge amount of water, since they can not afford to spend vast sums of money on cutting-edge technology that can contribute to a decrease in consumption of freshwater.

On the other hand, it seems short- sighted to contend that all countries around the world should restrict the use of freshwater. Perhaps the most oft-cited argument against such a view is that governments of some developed nations located in Europe do not need to hinder people from utilizing freshwater because these nations have a great deal of freshwater. In addition, these countries impose vast sums of tax on freshwater. Thus, citizens often have a tendency to save freshwater as much as they can. To exemplify, the population of Norway was approximately 6.5 million in 2018. However, according to an ariticle released by the New York Times, the amount of freshwater in this country is more than that of China. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.