Q7 Some people say Hisotry is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that science and technology education should take precedence over history education, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that learning history should be a priority as a school subject do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that receiving history education makes it possible for people not to commit the same mistakes in the past, such as colonisation and imperialism. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for history educations for teenagers, they would be less likely not only to feel a sense of belonging to our society but also to have patriotism. Given these points, some people hold the view that teaching history is more crucial than other subjects.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on science and technology education than history education. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that having a tight grasp of science and technology allows people to land a well-paying job with greater ease given that in this technologically advanced era, there are a multitude of employment opportunities in the field of science and technology. Furthermore, science and technology graduates play a vital role in solving serious contemporary issues of humans, including environmental problems. As an illustration, Tesla which is the most notable firm in the field of the automobile industry could release electric cars because employees who majored in science and technology developed the way up-to-date technology, exerting a positive influence on human beings since electric vehicles do not generate carbon dioxide. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that science and technology education should take priority over history education for the reasons discussed above.