Some people think too much attention and too many resources are given to protection of wild animals and birds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is stated that people have paid too much attention to wildlife protection and the resources distributed in this area is more than enough. I disagree with this statement.

Undeniably, compared to last few decades, people nowadays have been more aware of the importance of wildlife, and a* considerable amount of efforts have been made to protecting them. For example, it is the ever-increasing public donation and non-profit organizations with aim of wildlife protection that have created various preserves for a wide range of species, which have saved loads of endangered wild animals. Without those collective commitments made people or organizations from all walks of life, a number of endangered animals would have been extinct. However, the situation of wildlife protection is not as optimistic as how mass media describes, because the media tend to exaggerate the facts for its own sake. In some cases, the organizations that said to protect wildlife are doing token work, because due to corruption and the lack of monitoring, a large proportion of donated money raised by them is failing into authorities’ hands for private uses rather than being utilized to save lives of endangered animals. If these facts were not revealed by the media and were going to lastingly exist, wild animals and birds would still face a harsh situation and a high risk of extinction.

Except for the above problems that have impaired the effectiveness of protecting species, I think we can also find evidence from our experience. Although the media has been making every effort to arouse people’s consciousness of protecting wildlife, it is so remote to their life that they can hardly get an in-depth understanding of the necessity and importance of this issue. That is why many people turn off the TV or switch to another channel when there are wild animal protection programs on TV. Besides, the governments’ funding in this area insufficient, as they tend to allocate more resources to economy-catalyst areas such as infrastructure construction. Without the support of governments, the resources provided by organizations and individuals would be too limited to meet the need of wildlife protection.

The above analysis suggests that the conservation of wildlife neither attracts enough attention nor genuinely receives sufficient resources, making it necessary for us to raise public’s awareness of this vital but disregarded issue and to make resources genuinely reach the area in need.