In the past, people used to travel abroad to see many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, architectures in cities often imitate the style of those from other countries, making the appearance difference between cities globally being smaller. I personally think the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages.

For one thing, living in a city that absorbs various traits from foreign cultures can greatly benefit local residents. Through appreciating foreign architectures or artworks in public areas, local people can get an in-depth understanding of the culture of that country, which can broaden their horizon. For example, it is the Russian style buildings in China that have provided Chinese people with opportunities to get exposed to Russian culture. This also eliminates the costs relating to travelling abroad including transport and accommodation fees. For another, people who come from that country but live currently in this city would feel accepted, included and belonged when they can touch their own culture in this city, making it easier for them to adapt to life. If foreign people can get such a sense of belonging and acceptance, there would be more harmonious relationships in one city between people with different culture background.

However, there are some risks of making cities increasingly similar. Firstly, getting exposed to too much foreign culture might threaten local people’s cultural identity. This is a particular risk for children because it is too young for them to distinguish national culture from foreign culture, making them lose culture identity. Besides, compared to a traditional city that has unique architectural style for its own, a city without such unique attributes would lose attraction of foreign visitors, as they could choose to travel somewhere else and see similar views. However, this is unlikely to happen, as the appearance of buildings is not the only way to present culture identity. It also could be presented in traditional festival celebrations, carnivals and traditional food.

The above analysis suggests that although there are some risks related to making cities similar, people living in the city can get greater benefits from this trend.