The tendency of human race copying each other is shown in the popularity of fashion in clothes and other consumer products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think consumers’ preferences of buying similar products such as clothes show their tendency to copy each other. I disagree with this statement.

It is undeniable that some people choose to buy clothes with high popularity in order to follow a trend, and by following others, they can get a sense of belonging, connection, and identity. For example, teenagers tend to wear Vans sneakers rather than high heels because Vans has been made into an identity of young people. Especially in a student union group, members often wear clothes in a* similar style so that they feel connected and belonged. Consumers also buy popular products due to others’ recommendation. This happens frequently when people see online reviews when comparing a few products. If they follow others’ advice when making a* purchase decision, this would result in buying things that cater for others’ taste.

However, the above reasons are not enough to explain the phenomenon of buying well-liked products. In more cases, it is the positive traits of a product that motivate consumers to buy. For instance, without the superior attributes of Apple products, be it the on the cutting edge technology or the user-friendly detailed design, it would not have enjoyed such huge followings in the market. Besides, price is another factor that consumers take into account when purchasing. Every type of products has a target group of consumers, and often, the middle-class cannot afford luxury goods so that they buy economical things, and those products, * therefore, * become well liked in this class.

Above analysis suggests that although the consumption of some popular products are is affected by consumers’ attempt to conform with others, other factors such as quality and price also lead to the popularity of some products.