Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

In this contemporary world, finding a suitable job has become one of the most challenging problems everyone has to face in their life. Universities, therefore, act as a stepping stone to help people prepare for their future, so that they can find the most suitable career. Many people think that the main function of universities is to help people access sources of knowledge, no matter if they are important or not. I, however, hold the view that graduates should be equipped with skills and information which will be actually useful in the workplace. This essay will illustrate several reasons for my viewpoint, and give supportive examples where possible.

First and foremost, with the increasing development of technology, access to knowledge has become very easy for people now; and as a result, universities should actually focus on the quality of its teaching instead. Students at those schools should be taught core principles and skills of their major, creating a strong foundation for any further developments in the future. Once they already mastered all the basics, self-study to learn more in a certain field or topic would not be such a great problem.

Secondly, a curriculum specialising in its content's quality would be better than one providing all kinds of information, but doesn't prove to be useful in the long run. In simpler terms, as students' need after graduating from universities is to find an occupation for a stable life, they should try to meet this demand by offering the necessary knowledge. If students don't make any use of things taught in schools, they will become very disappointed and universities may lose their reputation.

Some people, however, believe that the main function of universities is only to introduce students to sources of knowledge, and to make research or study them is the responsibility of students. It is their opinion that, as undergraduates, they should learn how to learn new things related to their major on their own, rather than depending on any forms of instructions or teaching.

In conclusion, even though self-study may seem to be beneficial for students as they discover new information independently and self-conciously, I suggest that they should be guided to concentrate on the most important sectors in the course. Students will have a higher chance of finding a good job position in the future, knowing that all the fundamental knowledge has been conveyed to them.