Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is sometimes argued that higher education system has the responsibility to offer seniors more useful technique in professional fields, while others claim that campus is supposed to focus on academic schooling. From my perspective, universities that are equipped with career teaching resources could offer regarding courses, others should keep their main function of traditional teaching.

To begin with, it is necessary for some universities to provide students with skillful information to some extent. Firstly, numerous students are supposed to entering the market of employment after graduation, and getting hang of adequate working abilities helps graduates to have access to better job opportunities. Recent decades have witnessed an increasing number of people who are salaried higher in the worldwide scale because of their extraordinary official skills gained at school. Furthermore, a certain number of staffs working in some universities are qualified with knowledge in diverse workplaces, symbolizing an educational resource which should be taken advantage of.

However, the importance attached into intense and specific academic education is also rather essential, more universities should stay in this teaching style. The first reason is that teachers and professors in universities are mostly proficient in some research fields, and they are occupied with tasks. Thus, there would not be enough curriculum or teachers to help students with their career prospect. Secondly, schools aim to teach students knowledge in terms of their majors and overall development, the value of which could not be simplified only by its apparent meaning of becoming an employer. Thirdly, it is obviously that graduates who have great passion to further theirs studies by persuading a PhD degree are becoming more and more common in the whole society, which means it is not that necessary for them to gain professional skills during this period.

In conclusion, I do hold the view that universities that are qualified with resources could offer more skills of working for students while other universities are suggested to pay attention solely on research-guided education.