some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Some people believe that universities should accommodate graduates who have enough skills and wisdoms related to industries while, others think that the main function of universities is getting access to knowledge for its own sake. In my opinion, there should be a delicate balance between these two functions.

On the one hand, knowledge is a means of developing human activities. Without using updated technologies, which comes from knowledge, people are not able to cope with limited resources to feed the rising population. Hence, universities should encourage students to continue their educations in order to tackle these contemporary pitfalls and find the solutions for upcoming problems. For example, producing meat is now a big challenge because of its environmental effects. Fortunately, scientists can produce meat which is made up vegetarian fibers. This invention, can make meat as a most important resource of protein more accessible among indigents that improves the health condition of society and reduces the expected budget in this sector.

On the other hand, people should have right to expand their horizons regardless the industry’s demand. Some individuals, for example, come back to the academic atmosphere to learn new things based on their interests after retirement. Being in a process of learning could prevent getting depressed specially for retired people. So, universities should advocate for their right.

In conclusion, universities beside providing intelligent employers to push back the frontiers in industries, should provide the needed infrastructure for everyone who are keen to learn. In addition, universities can play an important role in refining the culture by virtue of increasing literacy rate and prevent to widespread fallacies in society.