some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Some people believe that universities should accommodate graduates who have enough skills and wisdoms related to industry while, others think that the main function of universities is getting access to knowledge for its own sake. In my opinion, there is a delicate balance between these two functions which have been implementing simultaneously.

On the one hand, knowledge is a means of developing human activities and discovering new horizons. Without using updated technologies, which comes from knowledge, people are not able to cope with limited resources to feed the rising population. People are improving their settlements and providing more foods and ingredients by virtue of new achievements in knowledge. Hence, universities should encourage students to continue their educational level in order to tackle these contemporary pitfalls.

On the other hand, people should have right to expand their horizons regardless the industry’s demand. Some individuals, for example, come back to the academic atmosphere to learn new things based on their interests after retirement. they are enthusiastic about learning new things and the process of learning is enjoyable for them. So, universities should advocate for their right.

In conclusion, universities beside providing intelligent employers to push back the frontiers in industries, should provide the needed infrastructure for everyone who keen to learn. In addition, the culture would be improved as long as people are motivated to broaden their wisdom and it would has positive effects on further aspects.