Some people think that what children watch on television will influence their behaviours. Others think that the time they watch television influences their behaviour most. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

In the today’s modern world, as children grow and develop, they can be easily influenced by what they see and hear, especially on television. While I accept that the amount of time that youngsters spend watching television does affect them, I would argue that the content of the programs influences them most.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why the length of time that children use to watching TV has significant effects. First, sitting in front of TV screens for too long is detrimental to children’s health. For example, children who are addicted to watching TV, instead of playing outdoor games, are more prone to obesity. If they keep their eyes glued to screens for several hours, waves from devices may cause headaches as well as eye diseases. Second, too much TV watching can also take away time from reading, studying and learning activities of youngsters. This leads to them do not have much time to enlarge their knowledge or develop their soft skills, they are more likely to fall behind with their studies at school.

On the other hand, it seems to me that the images in television programs have more marked influence on young people. On reason is that some TV programs can show alcohol and drug use, smoking, and sexual behavior, which makes children have more tendency to develop improper behavior. For instance, watching violent films does make children more aggressive because they are likely to imitate character’s activities. This can put a child at a higher risk of violent behaviour, which could ruin their future. Furthermore, TV may also show children poor eating habits through commercials for high-calorie and low-nutrient foods. Some food items such as cookies, candy and ice cream, which is high in calories and low in nutrients, is displayed in some commercials attracting children to buy. Thus, the likelihood of them carrying potential health risks such as eating disorders is considerably high.

In conclusion, although both the content of television programs and the length of time children watch are disadvantages in their own ways, I believe that what children watch affects them more.