Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to local practices and customs To what extent do you agree or disagree

Culture is the most important element to create the variety of countries. Because of the cultural differences of each country, sometimes we run into troubles. Therefore, some people think that “ when a person travels to another culture, they should adapt to local customs and practices “. I completely agreed with this opinion.

Traveling abroad is one of the best ways to help human release stress and enjoy their life. They attracted by cultural difference. Due to the cultural difference, many problems appear that we do not expect. “ When in Rome do as the Romans do “ this idiom refers to suitability. It means when we come to a place, a country or friends’ home, we must accept to change our routines.

For example, if we were American, We did not have to take off our shoes before stepping into others ' houses. But in Japan and other countries, we are so impolite and the host would be upset if we keep stepping into their house with shoes not taken off . Another situation, when we come to a restaurant, elegant and gentle are important, making loud sound is not a nice action, we will seem to be a impolite person, even we can take bad comment or even eye-glance from the others. In Japanese restaurants, on the contrary, the sound made from eating is normal, even making the chef feel happy, because that sound proves that the taste of food is great, it looks like a compliment for the person who made that food. Hence, we have to learn a little about local customs and prepare for adapting with many strange cultures.

The problems will be worse, if it affect to spirit of the native people. In fact, in many countries, spiritual elements are very serious. India, for instance, eating beef is forbidden. They could be angry when we eat or have a bad treat with the cow, you can get a prison sentence if you do those actions. In addition, eating with left arm as an insult, because for them the left hand represents sin and filth. Seriously, In Singapore, we can get a fine of thousands of dollars or go to jail for spitting or chewing gum. habits seem normal in our country but in other countries it becomes a serious mistake.

In conclusion, as I shared. It is necessary to learn and adapt to different cultures when traveling abroad, especially, the nation which has completely different customs. We learn their local custom is not only for avoiding troubles, but it also represents our respect for their motherland. As an advance, we should try to adapt local customs and practices before visiting other countries, be careful with what we do because we do not want to get a bad impression from them.