What are the advantages and disadvantages of mass media

In 21th century, “ mass media “ is not a weird term for people. It was very popular in our current life. It seems to be a tool to transmit and provide the information quickly. Therefore, we can say that mass media refers to a diverse array of media technologies that reach a large audience via mass communication. Beside, however, the benefit that it brings to us, but it also has many disadvantages.

Begin with the first benefit. Making people relax. Showcase, television programs and music as good sources of entertainment. After a day of working and studying, watching television is not a bad idea to release stress. Game-show bring a lot of laughter, music helps our brain feel rested. According to studies, watching television showcases can cure depression. Furthermore, researchers have proven that watching our favorite TV show or thinking about it will also help increase willpower and self-determination.

The next benefit is getting the last news in a very short time. There is no doubt about the spreading speed of mass media. We do not have to go out to collect information, everything we need is just lying down on the sofa and turning on the television, we cannot deny that it is very convenient. Not only through the TV, social media such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter were very useful as well. We can see all the world through the small screen of our phones.

Children’s knowledge increases. If adults know how to selectively choose the time and tv programs, children can learn from quiz programs, animal programs or showcases related to intellect. Watching educational programs helps inspire children and positively influence their behavior. In addition, children developed their emotions and learned skills. Positive TV programs reinforce healthy behaviors and emotions and teach children social skills that are important for their future success.

parallel to many benefits that “ mass media “ brings to us. Disadvantages appear at the same time. Spending too much time on the internet or television is the cause of individualism. Personal interactions with people are less and less.

As a result, socialization with family, friends and neighbors is affected. We could be addicted if we abuse our activity times on the internet. It directly affected children’s mentality. Prolonged watching of television can lead to eyesight problems and radio listening using earphones exposes one to possible hearing defects.

Another disadvantage of mass media is that some of the content that is spewed out for the viewing public is not suitable for the consumption of children. This becomes difficult for parents who may not be at home all the time or have others to supervise the children. Some measures have been taken to limit the access of the children to such adult content but sometimes, the limitations can be broken as the children seem to know a few tricks more than their parents.

Last but not least, cheating on the internet. These problems are not unfamiliar. Victims were cheated through advertisements. It not only affects our profit but it is also our health. People believe the quality of products through the blurb of sellers even though they cannot see or touch in real life. Moreover, “Hackers” or called “ robbers on the internet” also find out our secret information to threaten and blackmail.

In conclusion, as we can see. Almost things has two sides. And mess media was not an exception, the most important is the way we deal and balance it to decrease disadvantages as much as possible. Being a person of 21th century, we should be a smart user in many divisions in general and in mass media in particular