Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently, when others consider they should recruit people who are able to work in team and follow instructions.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a popular belief that independent and distinguished workers should be more preferred by employers, when some people are sure that team players are more beneficial for companies. Both views will be considered in detail in this essay and then the particular impact of each one will be concluded.

On the one hand, today businesses require employees who are self-sufficient to perform multifunctional tasks and are able to work in stressful environment. So, innovative workers are performed to be the best choice for those companies, as they reach the top in efficiency level. Moreover, the ability to work independently allows the employer to distribute job activities between such employees and make the best use of their skills. For instance, while one worker is occupied with website creation, other could develop an app.

On the other hand, the inability to work in team could lead to a series of professional problems. Number of jobs involve types of activities where the command brainstorming on different ideas is much more efficient that do this work alone. The absenteeism of decision-making and team cooperation makes the production output monotonous and narrow-minded. For example, advertising campaign requires different input of ideas and employees’ imaginations. Besides, recruiting the independent worker who is unable to do collective tasks and communicate with colleagues may end up with disorder in work discipline and squabbles in the collective.

In my opinion, the type of stuff should be taken on is interdependent with the nature of company activity. If it is more technically specialized area the employer has to put emphasis on innovative and self-sufficient in performing tasks workers. In case of necessity of constant decision making and brainstorming new ideas the team player employees should be more appropriative for this job.

In conclusion, both contrasting views have been discussed in this essay. Regarding the main aspects of issue, it could be summarized that companies should make recruitment decisions based on their work requirements.