Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

It is widely acknowledged that there is a need for youngsters to work without paying a salary to aid impoverished people. Personally, even though there are admittedly several drawbacks, I still believe that the benefits of this tendency are more considerable.

On the one hand, it is conceivable that encouraging the young to do unpaid work may bring multiple positive aspects regarding pressure-reducing. The key rationale is that teenagers may enjoy their hobbies and their voluntary work without pressure from friends, colleagues or the leader. Moreover, it is undeniable that young people not only feel a sense of comfort but also inspire in them a higher sense of responsibility including time management, teamwork ability or gaining knowledge and interpersonal skills via their partners. As a result, young people get more opportunities to be self-developed and have a meaningful contribution toin their community.

On the other hand, there is evidence to indicate that working without salary may be a lack of motivation which leads to unproductive results. In reality, people need money to survive and meet their demands in daily life. Therefore, if people are not paid money related to their contributions, it is straightforward for them to give up instead of carrying out the volunteer work carefully forgive owing to the fact that they claim these works are time-consuming and unnecessary. Consequently, unpaid work causes inefficiency and low quality. However, the government should encourage youngsters to engage in voluntary work by giving certificates or some awards to create motivation.

In conclusion, unpaid social work should continue to be provided on grounds of morality and ethics but it is a matter of individual decision about whether or not they wish to do so.

In conclusion, although there are several disadvantages, the positive side still outweighs the negative ones. Personally, the government should encourage youngsters to engage in voluntary work by giving certificates or some awards.