Some people think young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think that they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are valid arguments that young people should conform to the traditions of their society. While I believe that adhering to tradition is crucial for young people, it is my firm belief that they should be given the freedom to express their individuality.

The freedom for young people to express their distinct personalities and beliefs must be acknowledged. In other words, it is important for young people to express themselves and pursue their own interests and passions. By being able to make their own choices, they can develop a sense of autonomy and independence, which can be essential for their personal growth and well-being. Furthermore, some traditions may be outdated or even harmful, and the youth should be able to question and challenge them. For example, Vietnam’s past culture of child marriage has now been virtually eradicated owing to people’s growing awareness and demands for individual freedom and respect.

However, there are fundamental reasons why societal traditions should be upheld by the youth. First of all, by adhering to traditions, people may appreciate their culture and history since they provide them a sense of identity and belonging. Additionally, adhering to traditions can aid in the development of a sense of duty and discipline, which can assist in preparing them for their future societal duties. Children who grow up in religious homes that practice frequent prayer and worship, for example, may learn responsibility and discipline from going to these gatherings. They might believe that it is their role to participate in these religious rituals and uphold their responsibilities to their community.

In conclusion, the young should be encouraged to keep and develop the traditions, as well as allowed to behave freely.