• Task 2: Some people think young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think that they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people indicate that it is advisable for the young generation to inherit the traditions of their society. However, others argue that behaving in their own ways is better for them. Although each opinion has some advantages, I concur with the second one because of some reasons below.

On the one hand, following the traditions of their society brings benefits for individuals and society. To begin with, traditional young people tend to easily get on the right path and avoid toxic adjustment from others. More specifically, they can have knowledge from the previous generation’s experiences, difficulties and solutions. Thanks to that, they can get over challenges more easily and get rid of arguments because people are familiar, respectful to the traditions. In addition, some beautiful traditions form a special characteristic of the society, which is well-known around the world and it is precious for young people to follow that. For example, Vietnam was famous for its friendliness, kindness in the past and now we are showing it to foreign visitors by helping them in difficult situations, introducing traditional dishes.

On the other hand, young people should be allowed to behave as individuals, which is helpful for them and their society. First, when everyone wants to showcase themselves, behaving in their own ways is important. If people are themselves, they are in the most comfortable, confident condition, which enhances their results. Second, innovations beneficial for society require a unique way of thinking. Because of different personalities, attitudes, each person’s work is distinctive, which facilitates innovations.

In conclusion, both ways have their benefits for people and the society but the advantages of behaving as individuals are overwhelming compared to the traditional ways.