Task 2. Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. Why? What are the effects on society?

In this day and age, the number of science students in university is insufficient in many countries. This phenomenon which can be explained by many reasons has a significant impact on recruitment and development of science in society.

It is undeniable that when pursuing science careers, students will have more difficulties than others, which they are afraid of. Firstly, science subjects take up pupils more to graduate and generally is hard to grasp due to the huge, dry knowledge. To be more specific, science majors such as construction, pharmacy usually account for five to 6 years while social subjects just acquire about 4 years to graduate. Furthermore, science learners need to not only master in theory but also use frequently formulas, which become a nightmare to students. The second one is workers involving science are thought to be less likely to have well-paid jobs than entrepreneurs or artists. After many years studying in university, graduates will work as engineers, pharmacists and so on, which have the salary not as attractive as that of other careers,

There is a sheer disturbance of employment and science because of the inadequate number of science students. First, this trend results in the unreasonable allocation of labor. To be more specific, while there are not enough workers who excel in science, hot majors such as economíc show a high percentage of unemployment, which leads to the recession of the economy. The second effect is that not only hinder the development of modern society but also not improve the living standard. The less scientists there are, the less innovations there are and no more technology gadgets are invented.

In conclusion, there are two main reasons which explain for the small number of science students adversely affects employment and science.