• Task 2: The use of social media (e.g. Facebook and Twitter) is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media such as Facebook and Twitter are more and more prominent than face-to-face contact in daily life. Although this phenomenon brings some drawbacks, I believe that its benefits are more substantial.

On the one hand, using social media is accompanied with unavoidable disadvantages discussed below. To begin with, people who frequently use social media are inclined to have vision problems. To be more specific, they must use smartphones, laptops and so on in order to join online platforms so that they are excessively exposed to high energy visible detrimental to human’s eyes. In addition, users can be cheated through Facebook or Twitter. For example, a lot of Vietnameses lost millions of VNĐ through online money transfer by crimes when they resort to creating AI faces, stealing private information.

On the other hand, there are some merits that can overshadow those analysed negative effects. Firstly, thanks to social media, users can connect with people all over the world despite the geographical distance. Hence, it contributes to not only encouraging people exploring distinct cultures, languages but also enhancing the relationships between countries. Secondly, it is cost-effective and time-consuming for people to meet through social media. As opposed to face-to-face contact, online meetings can be organised successfully without any preparation about revenues, transportation that usually cost a large amount of money. Moreover, with only clicking on the button, people can organise or join any online meeting so there is no need to go to the meeting place and they can free up time to do recreation activities.

In conclusion, for all the reasons mentioned above, it seems that the merits of using social media is more significant than its demerits.