It is often argued that representatives of young generation ought to continue their education with university degree, while others hold that they should be enticed to be part of physical demanding employment. This essay will consider whether junior people are more beneficial to the society in the higher education institutions or whether they favor the interests of society more impactfully by indulging in physical employment.

It is considered by many that young people should obtain at least undergraduate degree before starting their professional life. First of all, each society demands experts in different fields of science in order to predict potential threats that would have detrimental effects on it. For example, the prompt warnings that were made by American economists to reveal the astronomical growth in the toxic assets of investment banks made an indispensable role for government to decrease devastating consequences of 2008 economic turmoil. Furthermore, universities lay the foundation for new inventions to shoulder the heavy burden of life more easily. One clear example is the technological advancements for mathematics software developed by the students of Stanford University, so that the program is capable of calculating 27000 order in a crack. If people had made this calculation manually, they would have demanded 4 days to finish it.

However, it is also commonly shared thought that young people should be directed to blue-collar jobs that require manual labor. One important issue is that construction of facilities, namely, bridges, hospitals, schools, etc. play a pivotal role in the communities. Based on the recent research made by well-known business magazine, the construction of bridge in Tokyo led to 10% decrease in the level of traffic jams in rush hours. Moreover, some occupations require specific skill sets which can’t be obtained logically without accelerating practices. For instance, due to recent investigations made by Belgium universities, the most expensive watchs are made manually by masters who have no any academic backgrounds, rather than by mathematical engineers made their degree at top universities.

To sum up, while universities grow potential experts to save their countries for anticipated dangers and higher education seekers sign the appeal of revolutionary technologies, there is also a majority who defends the facts that manual labor by young people is essential to be used for constructions of infrastructure and that by obtaining some skill sets a variety of jobs can be executed. In my opinion, the balance should always be protected; undeniably both white and blue-collar workers are inevitably important for the prosperity of societies.