Significant economic growth is targeted as a main goal to achieve high standard of living by overwhelming majority of countries; however, it is also argued by many that economic development leads to the loss of social values. I believe that the drawbacks of economic enhancement are eclipsed by its benefits. In this essay, I a going to shed some light on the advantages and disadvantages of economic growth.

It is certainly true that a significant number of countries have improved people’s living condition by providing enhanced standard of public services: health and advance public transportation system. Governments with good economic conditions could have initiated more social welfare projects to support people to afford astronomical fees that charged by hospitals. For example, dramatic increase in the oil prices pawed the way for my country to help additional 10000 people under the social healthcare project in 2013. Furthermore, advancements in public transportation system would lead to decline in the level of traffic jams which in turn results in important rise in the life of satisfaction of people.

However, high economic growth might have a negative effect on society by conducing losses of values. It is undeniable truth that economic development should be obtained through sustainable sources which in turn don’t lead to catastrophic results, such as pollution. For example, by considering environmental issues negligible, my government launched two huge technology parks simultaneously in 2012, so that the recent research publicized by the environmentalists revealed the truth that owing to the operations of the plants, the city of these technology parks would be threatful for living due to polluted weather which should be preserved for posterity for next generations.

Having weighed up the pros and cons, it can be concluded that the disadvantages are overshadowed by benefits leading to different opportunities in health and transportation.