A significant quantity of food is wasted by overwhelming majority of people. This is a serious issue because it affects both environmental and social spheres of society. This essay will discuss the root causes of food wastage, before proposing two potential solutions.

Perhaps primary cause of food wastage is lack of knowledge of people in healthy nutrition. On the basis of basic metabolism rate, weight, height and immune system, each individual should adhere to specific nutrition plan which in turn paves a way to prevent an excess demand for foods. For example, the recent research publicized by Times magazine sheds the light on issue that food wastage is 25 % less among the people who have participated in healthy nutrition seminars. Another important cause is that governments don’t allocate enough budget to highlight the devastating consequences of ecological problems that are the results of food wastage amongst people by organizing various events. Therefore, people can’t delineate the importance of even small actions that could lead to catastrophic results., for instance, pollution due to wastage.

Fortunately, there are two promising solutions to this problem. First of all, people should attend conferences, seminars, and lectures that devoted for explaining the inevitable role of proper and healthy consumption of foods on frequent basis. For example, the citizens of one of the most environmentally friendly city – Oslo - owe their clean society to the regular nutrition seminars that they attend. Secondly, governments ought to shoulder the blame of food wastage by spending a good money on the TV advertisements, preparation of inspirations projects, and organization of collective festivals which devoted to revealing the severe blow of wastage, which would cut down the member of food wasters.

To conclude, food wastage is a serious problem caused by significant gap in the nutrition knowledge of people and governmental actions to reduce it. I recommend that government address this problem by investing in food wastage related issues and that people should spend more time on more healthy and relevant nutrition program.