Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

zoos remain popular places for people to visit for entertainment and to learn about wild animals.Although some individuals believe that putting animals in zoo is cruelty.However, at the same time, a body of opinion claims that zoos play a significant role for the protection of endangered species.this essay will discuss both viewpoints in subsequent paragraphs.

To commence with, it is undeniable fact that zoos act as life saviour for the wild animals.In this materialistic world, human beings want more resources and land for serving the ever-expanding population.As a result, animal's habitats are being destroyed through cutting the forests, or through poaching.Due to this, the argument is that zoos can protect these animals that are under the threat.As zoos are managed by the highly trained staff who can ensure the animals are looked after and can produce offsprings.there are examples of successes in this respect, such as pandas, which have been endangered for many years but have been protected.

However, there are more convincing arguments foe why zoos should be shut down.First of all, even though some species are under threat, there are several animals which do not fall into this list and who are there just for the entertainment of visitors.While it may be fun and educational to see them, animals are not meant to be caged , and their pain can often observed in the way many of them pace back and forwards all day.Not only this, if prime reason of zoo is to protect animals, this could ne done in other environments such as wildlife parks which provides more freedom to them.

Hammering the last nail, although zoos are beneficial for wild animals but there are many drawbacks which cannot be ignored.Therefore, zoos should be closed down.