Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

There is a natural debate regarding the usefulness of zoos in protecting animals. Undoubtedly, a significant number of wild animals can be protected by living in zoos, but I believe that letting those living outside the zoos may bring better for them.

Obviously, there can be some useful purposes for keeping animals inside zoos. Zoos may serve the right and useful methods for endangered animals to keep them from becoming extinct. It is likely that some of the zoos try to create the best habitat for the animals based on their natural habitat which is suitable for them to live and increase the number of individuals. For instance, the zookeeper seems to provide food that familiar with each animal, and the way they give them food may give an animal the impression that they are hunting. Otherwise, to some extent, zoos are the means to educate people about animals. Some people, nowadays, are out of touch with a wide range of animals, so that zoos would become a chance for them to contact those animals and improve their knowledge about animals world.

On the other hand, I would argue that the majority of zoos have a bad impact on wild animals. One salient reason is that most of the wild animals are not able to be domesticated easily. Therefore they must be released from zoos to live in their own natural habitat. It is undeniable that the longer animals stay in zoos, the harder for those to turn back to the wildlife. Animals are often forced to live in solitary confinement which is held in a bad environment in a state of anxiety. As a result, they lose the way to control their lives and their natural instincts, little by little, they became more dependent on the care of humans and are never able to return to the wild again.

In conclusion, endangered animals can be protected from a dwindling number of species by living in zoos in a certain condition. However, other wild animals need to stay free for their living.