Some people want government to spend money on finding life on other planets, however, others think it is a waste of public money when the earth has so many problems.

Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

How the government should allocate the budget is always a matter of debate. While alien life searching is favoured by many advocators, the opponents argue that such a waste is unacceptable. In my opinion, although alien projects are costly, the government should not cease seeking, whereas budget control is necessary.

Admittedly, space technology advances human society in the long term. This can be seen from the by-products from space research which started from 1960s. The outcomes, including satellite telecommunication, microwave oven, and computer, significantly improved people’s efficiency and productivity. If the government continue to support space research, the benefit may not reveal straight after, but it is very likely to happen in the near future.

On the other hand, it is also understandable why people are against for exploring life on other planets since there are too many issues on earth waiting to be addressed. For the government, the prime duty should be to protect its people away from sickness, poverty and crime. Thus, instead of looking for unknown life forms in the universe, it would be more realistic and contributive to establish more hospitals, build more schools and train more healthcare workers to help its people. Moreover, as there are many species on earth are endangered, investing huge amount of money in searching alien lives just seems hypocritical.

It seems to me that both arguments are justified, and it is also unwise to support one side. I think a better solution is to control the budget that is going to be used in finding lives in space strictly so that the public’s money would not be wasted.