Many people think that the government should spend money to explore the outer space, while others believe that it is a waste of public money. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

Opinion is divided as to whether the government should invest in the exploration of space. It will set the stage for finding alternative energy at best and waste money at worst. I think we should welcome space exploration with open arms on condition that enough money is input into infrastructure construction.

Lacking necessary fossil fuel and other natural resources that are essential to industrial development, scientists go to great lengths to search for new energy. Chances are that the remote and untouched planets are buried various kinds of resources, so it is imperative to spend money exploring the outer space. Furthermore, exploiting outside the earth mirrors the strong comprehensive national power of a country to some extent, which is one of the important target of a government. Last but not least, it is a arduous but rewarding process in a long run.

People who take a dim view of the exploration deem that it does not amount to much compared to millions upon millions dollars it has wasted and valuable social resources it has occupied, for the reason that the scientific exploration activities are likely to turn out abortive. What’s more, the unpractical research is of secondary importance when there are many social issues such as poverty, terrorism and the endless wars remained to be solved. Additionally, The governments are supposed to invest the public money in the fields that concerned to the daily life of people.

As far as I am concerned, exploring the outer space is inductive to human being in long-term interests, and the government should support it as long as the country have a solid economical foundation.