Many people think that the government should spend money to explore the outer space, while others believe that it is a waste of public money. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

Since the beginning of The Space Age in the 1950s, there have been debates about whether governments should allocate funds for space exploration. Although man’s venture into space is costly and often risky, the benefits it brings are enormous, justifying huge amounts of space funding.

Some people argue that space exploration is too expensive and should therefore remain a low priority. Launching a space mission would cost hundreds of millions of dollars, and too often with no immediate, tangible benefits. Given that there are still many people living in poverty in some counties, governments should use the money instead to solve pressing problems such as hunger, disease and unemployment.

Advocates of space research base their arguments on the benefits it can offer. First of all, space exploration has created new markets and new technologies that have spurred the economy and changed our lives in many ways. Many common everyday services such as GPS systems and satellite television could not have come into being without scientists’ efforts at space research. Secondly, space technology is crucial for the long-term survival of the human species. It is said that the Earth is the cradle of humanity, but mankind cannot stay in the cradle forever. Developing new technologies to travel between planets increases our chances of survival should the Earth be under threat. Finally, space exploration satisfies human’s desire to explore the unknown, and it is such desire that drove our ancestors to go out of Africa two million years ago and continues to inspire many to push the boundaries of our scientific and technical limits. Simply put, space exploration epitomizes the power of the human spirit.

My view is that space exploration can benefit the citizens of the world today and the generations of tomorrow, and it is not something governments should give up for the sake of some short term investment and effort.