Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Deterring would-be criminals from a young age has always been an important mission of society. As a result, some people claim that felons who have rehabilitated and reassimilated into law-abiding citizens are the most appropriate ones to warn the teenageers about the ramifications of committing crimes. From my point of view, I am, however, of the opinion that there are better ways to educate the children rather than having the criminals.

Admittedly, those ex-convicts can be the most reflective mirror for children to look up as they have suffered the consequences of doing infraction. Since the inmates have spent astronomical time in the prison, they know what it takes to pay for the price of being a criminal and have a better awareness about that. Undoubtedly, their stories are the most reliable and valid, so the teenagers will believe and become more influenced by the stories. As a result, children can gain better awareness about the consequences of committing grave offences.

However, I believe there are a multitude of methods to mould children into law-abiding citizens. Students can learn about crimes and justice when they go to schools. Teachers do not only impart better knowledge with examples and explanations, but they also have more respect from the children, so the young will be more likely to listen and understand the lessons. Moreover, with the proliferation of the Internet, children can easily get access to what are the moral values and why they should not practise wrong-doings. According to some surveys at high schools, 80% of the students have made research themselves on the sanctions they have to bear if they commit crimes, so they become more aware of their actions. Without a doubt, those ways can be more justifiable and safer for the children.

In conclusion, although the influence of some ex-inmates, who have reintegrate into the society with remorse, is undeniable, I am convinced that there are more suitable methods to educate adolescents about the dangers of practising offences, including the learning from school and the use of the internet.