It is a fact that some ex-prisoners become good residents, and opinions are divided whether such people should speak to youngsters to educate them or not. Although there are several alternative methods, I believe that this idea is more significant.

The alternatives to using reformed criminals to educate teenagers about crime would be much less effective. One popular option is providing students with information in school through documentaries or books. However, school children may find it boring and theoretical, so they are not really concerned about the danger of crime. Another option is that police officers speak to students about crime. This could be useful in terms of warning young people about the consequences lawbreakers have to face when they are caught, but adolescents are often reluctant to take advice from figures of authority.

There are many reasons why allowing ex-prisoners to speak to children about their experience is the best way to discourage them from breaking the law. One of them is that teenagers are more likely to accept advice from people who talk about their experience. This is because they feel more reality about ex-offenders’ stories and how they became involved in crime, so they are likely to avoid such illegal actions. In addition, hearing what life in prison is really like and the danger of a criminal lifestyle may eliminate an idea that criminals’ lives are appealing, which are described in some movies and novels.

In conclusion, I believe that raising awareness of children about the danger of committing a crime by using reformed offenders to speak about their stories has more impact compared to other methods.