It is a fact that there are more and more tools that support people to translate rapidly and accurately. Opinions are divided on whether learning foreign languages is unnecessary or not. Although the importance of translation tools cannot be denied, I believe that learning foreign languages still plays an important role.

Admittedly, thanks to the development of technology, using computers to translate is becoming more popular, and this offers several benefits for individuals. One of them is that there is no the boundation language, which is especially beneficial for tourists. That is to say, in the past, many people were afraid of communication when they travels to another country, but these days, they can go anywhere because they can use these tools to communicate with local citizens regardless of language. Another is that translation tools facilitate people to get more information no matter which languages are written. For example, a student can access a huge amount of information in the world to enhance their knowledge, which is beneficial for their studies.

However, we cannot completely rely on such tools. This is because translating by computers may lead to misunderstand in some contexts, which can cause awkward situations. Therefore, knowing a foreign language helps people communicate more accurately. For example, politicians can communicate with foreign counterparts without translators, so transmitting information is more accurate. In addition, studying another language is a good way to learn about other cultures and history, because the alteration of language has grown with the development of society.

In conclusion, although advanced translation softwares are common and support for human communication, I contend that learning foreign languages is far more significant.